Canada Assembly & Dinner


7 MAY 2020

Hotel Arts, Calgary


What is Canada Assembly & Dinner?

Canada Assembly is a half day packed with energy transition and renewables discussions, D&I and capital raising – the biggest trends driving Canadian energy industry today.

Every year, the Awards Dinner attracts 350+ industry leaders to celebrate the Lifetime Achievements of one of their colleagues. In 2020, we will be celebrating Mike Rose, President & Chief Executive Officer of Tourmaline Oil Corp. We will also be awarding winners in the following two categories D&I Champion of the Year and Energy Transition.

Both the panel discussions and the dinner were completely SOLD OUT in 2019 so get your ticket before it’s too late.

Agenda at a Glance

Thursday 7 May 2020

1:00 pm – Welcome Remarks from Alexandra Ashikhmina, MD – Americas, Energy Council & President, Women’s Energy Council

1:05-1:50pm – Energy Transition in Canada

1:50-2:30pm – Opportunities in Renewables projects across Canada

3:00-4:00 – Practical D&I Developments that Make the Biggest Positive Change 

  • Heather Culbert, Board of Directors, Whitecap Resources

4:00-5:00pm – Financing and Capital Raising 

5:00pm – Drinks Reception

6:30pm – Call to Dinner

7:20pm – D&I Champion of the Year Award

7:30pm – Energy Transition Award

8:30pm – Lifetime Achievement Award Ceremony for Mike Rose   

9:15pm – End of Dinner 

Register for 2020

2019 Speakers

Brian Thomas

Brian Thomas

Managing Director & Head of Energy, Prudential Capital Group

Celine Gerson

Celine Gerson

President, Schlumberger Canada Limited

Darrell Peterson

Darrell Peterson

Partner, Bennett Jones

Geeta Sankappanavar

Geeta Sankappanavar

President & Co-Founder, Grafton Asset Management

Kerry O’Reilly Wilks

Kerry O’Reilly Wilks

Chief Legal & Compliance Officer, TransAlta Corporation

Kevin Kynoch

Kevin Kynoch

Managing Director – Energy Group, ATB Financial

Marnie Smith

Marnie Smith

Senior Client Partner, Industrial Korn Ferry, Calgary

Susan Riddell Rose

Susan Riddell Rose

President & CEO, Perpetual Energy

Tracy Robinson

Tracy Robinson

Executive Vice President, President Canadian Natural Gas Pipelines TC Energy

Awards Dinner

Our Lifetime Achievement Award celebrates the triumphs and successes of those who have made a true difference to the Canadian oil and gas industry and local communities. They are responsible for pioneering new frontiers, pushing boundaries, inspiring others and achieving growth in challenging markets whilst always giving back to communities. They inspire us.

We’re pleased to announce the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Recipient is Mike Rose, President & Chief Executive Officer of Tourmaline Oil Corp

We will also be celebrating the achievements of a winner in each of the following categories. 

D&I Champion of the Year
This award will celebrate an individual who have made a significant positive change to Diversity & Inclusion in energy industry in Canada, an advocate for change and equality and who have been a driving force for best D&I practices inside and outside their business

Energy Transition Award
This award will celebrate a company that turned energy transition into an opportunity. Criteria includes embracing sustainable operations, innovation, reducing carbon footprint and making a positive impact on local environment/community

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient Video

Meet the Previous Award Winners

Meet John Dielwart, our 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Meet Adam Waterous, our 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Meet Jim Davidson & Brett Wilson, our 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients
Meet Mike Tims, our 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient


Venue for 2018 TBC. The 2017 Canada Assembly and Dinner took place at the Hotel Arts in Calgary, Canada

For more information on where to 2018 venue will be, please contact Alexandra Ashikhmina

Hotel Arts

119 12 Ave SW, Calgary, AB T2R 0G8, Canada

Find out more here: 

Event Name

Contact Us

Alexandra Ashikhimina

Alexandra Ashikhimina

Managing Director, Americas

Speaking Enquiries
Tel: +44 20 7384 7702
Tim Pawul

Tim Pawul

SVP – Corporate Development, Americas

Sponsorship Enquiries
Tel: +1 631-891-8414
Kate Robey

Kate Robey

Marketing Manager - Americas

Marketing Enquiries
Tel: +27 21 001 3889

TJ Murphy

TJ Murphy

VP Corporate Partnership Development

Sponsorship Enquires
Tel: +1 312 667 1541